The Fun Fair

I wasn’t sure what, but I had detected some kind of sound coming from the end of the pier. It had taken me a while to stroll down the long wooden ledge, but I wasn’t complaining. I had to get out of that house. The obscure sound continued to play achingly slowly and I could only compare it to a child’s nursery rhyme.

Oh I do like to be beside the seaside, oh I do like to be beside the sea” I hummed the rhyme in my head as the faint sound persisted throughout the silent sea air. Due to the heavy fog that had been painted over the once beautiful, scenic view, I struggled to see where the sound was coming from. The heavy, animalistic wind howled uncontrollably against the reckless waves and the pair made it their mission to gain power over one another. It was cold. Everywhere was cold. I breathed heavily as I allowed my feet to carry me to the sound that was still playing on a tedious loop. Suddenly, the fog began to clear for the first time that day and L.E.D circus bulbs suddenly illuminated the dark sky of daylight. A funfair. I looked up in confusion. I felt some kind of pride in delving into the unknown and discovering this isolated sight. The sound was now blaring and was much louder than before. A worn away metal gate, which was once securely locked, bent open slightly in the middle, as though someone, or something, had purposely broken it. I ducked under the cold metal and winced as a sharp piece of the material dug into my skin. I was finally back on my feet. Beginning to stroll through the newly discovered location, I looked around me. The teacups were situated right in the center of the wooden planks and a multitude of childhood memories came flooding back to me. Most of the rides were covered in over grown ivy that twisted and suffocated them desperately. However the teacups looked brand spanking new, as though they were still in good use, which was rather obscure due to the run down atmosphere the site portrayed. The tune which I had become quite acquainted to, continued to blast through my eardrums and it was slightly hurting my head. The dark skies made me realize I didn’t want to be here. No, I definitely don’t want to be here. This may be a good idea with friends, but alone? No way. I turned back, speeding my walk up as I made my way to the gate. I didn’t feel as though I was alone. Suddenly the music stopped. Silence. It was strange, seen as though the nursery rhyme had been playing for most of the time I had been here, the fact that it had come to an immediate halt, put me on edge. I turned. This cant be happening? The teacups had lit up automatically and the sound of another fair ground song blared out of the unseen speakers. I stepped back again, this time picking up my pace into a run. My heart thumped in my chest repeatedly, as though someone was using me as a drum. The sound of the teacups grew louder… and louder… and louder. It was hurting. It was torturous. It was deafening. Then I saw it. Stopping me in my exaggerated tracks, it stood before me, its breath hot and heavy. It was hungry, and I apparently looked like the perfect, well-deserved meal for it to feed off.

Leave a comment